The Pain Dealer / public-record autopsy
SBOA compliance engagement Center Township · Jennings County 2005–2025 SBOA trail 21 years · 6 reports 2017–2025 payroll context

MORE STAFF. MORE PAYROLL. WHERE THE HELL ARE THE RECORDS?

The recent missing-upload finding is not standing by itself anymore. Six State Board of Accounts reports now give us an unbroken 2005–2025 audit trail: check-image and reconciliation problems, four years without adopted salary resolutions, internal-control standards certified in Gateway even though the trustee told SBOA they had not actually been adopted or fully trained, and then Gateway-upload deficiencies documented from 2018 through 2025. The payroll record still adds its own twist: the paid non-board roster rises from two records to three when Andrew Eder takes office in 2023.

2005–2025 / SIX SBOA REPORTS / BAD NEWS UNIT
The Pain Dealer newspaper character in a rain-soaked noir scene
Receipt attached
21years covered without a gap by six SBOA reports: 2005 through 2025.
8 yrsGateway-upload deficiencies documented across the 2018–2025 audit periods.
3 chainsexplicit repeat-finding trails: check images, internal controls, and Gateway uploads.
YES / NOGateway said internal controls were adopted and trained; the trustee told SBOA they were not.
2 → 3paid non-board compensation records: 2 through 2022, then 3 from 2023 forward.
+19.7%total reported compensation from 2022 to 2025: $28,800.00 → $34,462.89.
01 / The long receipt

Twenty-one years. The findings keep introducing themselves.

Six SBOA reports cover every year from 2005 through 2025. The subjects change, but a familiar theme keeps returning: records, controls, certifications and required paperwork that did not match what SBOA expected to find.

2005–06
B31419 · examination

Only the front of the check.

SBOA said the financial institution returned optical images of only the front side of cancelled checks. Indiana's retention rule required an electronic record of the information on both the front and back.

returns in next report
Audited-period trustee: Edward Kreutzjans. Laurie Blackburn took office Jan. 1, 2007 and attended the exit conference.
2007–09
B36872 · examination

No reconciliation records presented.

Depository reconciliations were not presented for examination. The one-sided check-image problem appeared again, and SBOA explicitly tied it back to B31419.

repeat: check images
Trustee: Laurie Blackburn.
2010–13
B45008 · compliance letter

Four years without a salary resolution.

The Township did not adopt a resolution establishing salaries of officers and employees in 2010, 2011, 2012 or 2013. SBOA also found the trustee's bond was $15,000 instead of the required $30,000 in 2011–13.

Trustee: Laurie Blackburn.
2014–17
B51337 · compliance report

Certified one thing. Told auditors another.

The township had not adopted required internal-control standards and covered personnel had not received the required training. Yet Gateway had been certified as though both had happened.

becomes prior finding
Trustee: Laurie Blackburn. Daniel Fox documented as Board chair from 2015–18.
2018–21
B59913 · compliance report

The same controls. Then Gateway goes dark.

SBOA explicitly repeated the B51337 adoption, training and certification comments. It also found none of the required monthly Gateway files and only part of the required annual files were uploaded throughout the engagement period.

launches Gateway repeat chain
Report communicated to Laurie Blackburn, Trustee, and Daniel Fox, Board Chair.
2022–25
82573A · compliance engagement

The upload problem survives another audit.

2022 had only four months of bank statements and two monthly ledgers; 2023 had no board minutes or monthly ledgers; 2024 had one bank statement and none of the other required monthly or annual files; 2025 had no monthly or annual files. SBOA pointed back to B59913.

repeat: Gateway uploads
2022: Laurie Blackburn. 2023–25: Andrew Eder. Board chair: Daniel Fox.

The repeat-finding family tree

The prior-report references were chased down. They connect the current report to older findings instead of leaving “similar comment appeared before” dangling in the air like government folklore.

B31419 · 2005–06Optical images of checks
B36872 · 2007–09Same check-image issue explicitly cited as prior comment
B51337 · 2014–17Internal-control adoption, training and certification
B59913 · 2018–21Same control comments explicitly repeated
B59913 · 2018–21Monthly and annual Gateway uploads
82573A · 2022–25SBOA explicitly says the Gateway-upload comment appeared before
What Gateway was certified to say
YES

Internal-control standards adopted. Covered personnel trained.

VS.
What the trustee told SBOA
NO

The standards had not been adopted and all covered personnel had not received the required training. B59913 says the same certification problem appeared in the prior report.

2018 → 2025Eight consecutive calendar years sit inside audit periods with documented Gateway-upload deficiencies. 2018–21 was the broadest version: no required monthly files throughout the engagement period.
$373,395 → $564,842Reported year-end cash and investments rose from 2017 to 2021, up 51.3%, while the internal-control issue persisted. Both figures are explicitly labeled unaudited “other information” in the SBOA reports.
One very long deskThe reports place Laurie Blackburn in the trustee role across the audited periods from 2007 through 2022. Andrew Eder takes the 2023–25 portion of the current engagement. The 2005–06 check-image finding belongs to the prior trustee's audited period.
SBOA 2014 through 2017 Center Township findings page showing internal control adoption, training and certification issues
B51337 · report page 7. The page puts all three pieces together: no adopted standards, no required training, and a Gateway certification saying otherwise.
SBOA 2018 through 2021 Center Township findings page showing repeated certification issue and missing Gateway uploads
B59913 · report page 2. The certification issue is explicitly called a repeat, and the report adds the monthly-and-annual Gateway upload finding that the 2022–25 report later cites again.
The six reports are not identical audit products. Older “examination” reports, later compliance reports and the current compliance engagement have different scopes. This timeline compares the findings they actually state; it does not pretend every period was tested in exactly the same way.
02 / The recent audit

Four recent years. Same old paperwork problem.

The 2022–2025 engagement is where the old Gateway problem becomes painfully specific. Pick a year to see exactly what SBOA said was missing.

03 / The monthly upload collapse

The ledger line falls off a cliff.

Monthly ledgers tell the clearest four-year story in the report: 2 of 12 months were uploaded in 2022, then zero monthly ledgers were uploaded in 2023, 2024 and 2025.

Monthly ledger upload completion

Months uploaded out of 12, based on the annual findings reported by SBOA.

Bank statement uploads

SBOA reports four months of bank statements in 2022, does not give a bank-statement count for 2023, reports one in 2024, and says no monthly files were uploaded in 2025.
4 / 122022: four months of bank statements uploaded.
?2023: bank statements are not specified in this finding.
1 / 122024: only one bank statement uploaded.
02025: SBOA says no monthly files were uploaded.
PartialMissing / zero under broad statementNot specified
04 / Evidence matrix

What vanished, and when.

Tap any cell for the exact basis. “Broad statement” means the report gives a category-wide statement rather than naming that specific file again. Gray means the finding simply does not tell us.

Select a cell

Pick any record and year to see what the SBOA report says about it.

AGAIN

This wasn't the first warning.

SBOA states: “A similar comment appeared in prior Report B59913, entitled MONTHLY AND ANNUAL GATEWAY UPLOADS.” That's the part that turns a paperwork problem into a governance question: the issue had already been identified before this engagement period's finding.

05 / Staffing and payroll

Six years flat. Then the roster grows.

Nine annual compensation exports make the staffing change much harder to shrug off as a one-year quirk. From 2017 through 2022, Center Township reported five compensation records every year: a trustee, one clerk, and three board members. In 2023, the first year of Andrew Eder’s term, the report rises to six records with a new assistant role. The paid non-board count stays at three through 2025.

The six-year baseline finally breaks in 2023.

These are paid non-board compensation records, not an FTE calculation. For six consecutive years the pattern is trustee + one clerk. Beginning in 2023, the pattern becomes trustee + clerk + assistant/second clerical record.

What changed: 2017–2022 consistently show two paid non-board records. The 2023 export adds an “Asst Clerk” record, and 2024 continues with a “Trustee Asst” record. In 2025, two separate clerical records remain in the export.
Paid non-board roster
2 3

That is a 50% increase in the number of paid non-board compensation records compared with the six-year pattern that preceded Eder’s term. The compensation reports do not measure full-time-equivalent staffing, but they do show one additional paid non-board record beginning in 2023.

6 years2017–2022 · two paid non-board records every year
3 years2023–2025 · three paid non-board records every year
+50%paid non-board record count · 2 to 3

More compensation. Fewer ledger uploads.

The audit period tells the ugly little side-by-side story: reported compensation rises while the documented monthly-ledger upload record falls to zero.
Monthly ledger uploads12 months possible

Nine years of reported compensation

The longer series shows what the four-year audit window alone cannot: the staffing pattern had been stable for years before 2023. Role groups below are calculated from the job titles in each annual export.

TrusteeClerical / assistantBoard
The break is visible in both headcount records and titles: 2017 through 2022 show one clerk alongside the trustee. In 2023, the export shows a clerk plus an “Asst Clerk.” In 2024 that second clerical role is reported as “Trustee Asst.” By 2025 the two clerical rows total $12,070.89, compared with $9,600 for the single clerk in 2022. That is a 25.7% increase in reported clerical compensation across the audit period.

Open the nine-year payroll roster

Name as reportedJob titleTotal compensation
Source: Center Township, Jennings County · Certified Reports of Public Employment and Compensation · 2017 through 2025. Each export says the data are reported exactly as entered by local officials. Name spellings and job-title wording vary by year, so the roster preserves the exported wording.
06 / Who held the chair

Put the years on the right desk.

The schedule of officials matters. The long audit trail spans three trustee eras: Edward Kreutzjans in the 2005–06 audited period, Laurie Blackburn through the later periods ending in 2022, and Andrew Eder beginning in 2023. This section keeps the current 2022–25 finding on the correct desk.

2022 · Trustee Laurie Blackburn

Official term shown in the SBOA report: Jan. 1, 2022 to Dec. 31, 2022. The 2022 compensation export lists 5 total records.

2023–2025 · Trustee Andrew Eder

The SBOA report lists Eder's term as Jan. 1, 2023 to Dec. 31, 2026. The compensation exports show two paid non-board records every year from 2017 through 2022. The 2023 export, Eder’s first year as trustee, is where that six-year pattern moves from two to three.

Township Board Chair · Daniel Fox

The SBOA report lists Fox as chair from Jan. 1, 2022 to Dec. 31, 2026.

The timelines overlap

More paid staff. Higher compensation. Missing uploads continued.

From 2023 through 2025, Center Township reported three paid non-board records, after six straight years at two, while SBOA continued to document missing required Gateway uploads.

By 2025, reported compensation had risen to $34,462.89, while SBOA found that no monthly or annual files had been uploaded for that year.

Rendered page of the State Board of Accounts report showing the missing uploads finding
07 / The current SBOA receipt

Don't trust the graphic. Read the damn page.

The key finding appears on report page 4 (PDF page 6). The cover identifies the document as the State Board of Accounts compliance engagement report for Center Township, Jennings County, covering Jan. 1, 2022 through Dec. 31, 2025.

Aug. 11, 2026Report date
Aug. 19, 2026Exit conference communicated to Andrew Eder and Daniel Fox
Sept. 3, 2026Filed date shown on cover